Each year the Yorkshire Awards Committee seeks to recognise those who have had an impact upon Yorkshire and its people in some way, demonstrating their affection for and commitment to the County.

A representative from each of the sponsors forms the Awards Committee under the Chairmanship of Sir Rodney Walker. This Committee meets regularly throughout the year to consider nominations received for all the categories.

Each nomination received is fully discussed by the Committee; the selection of Award Winners is a Committee decision and is not influenced by the number of nominations received for one company or individual.

The winner of each category is presented with a specially produced and engraved Dartington Crystal Bowl.